Octreotide Saves The Day

Hi ladies. Octreotide has totally saved my bp. I still get teachycardia but minus the terrible syncope. Next week I'm starting mestinon.

Have been in hospital for a month now- the best one EVER. And I'm a hard woman to please, as you know!

Anyone else ake octreotide? Do the crazy GO side effects - aka looking 9 months pregnant- go away?

Please tell me they do...!

Guest tearose

I am so sorry you had this terrible relapse!

I have no experience with that drug but hope it works for you.

Keep getting stronger. We need your scholarly skills here in the USA.

Perse:

So sorry to hear that you have been in hospital for such a long period. I'm hoping that things settle down.

I used Octreotide for about a year (1993-4). I had very good success with it. I did have the GI upset for awhile; that eventually subsided. I eventually stopped because of HBP coupled with gall bladder problems probably triggered by the octreotide. I was using the monthly octreotide with short acting as needed. After I stopped octreotide, I was put on Mestinon and now Mestinon slow release. That also did me in with GI problems...but I'll take that compared to the other problems of POTS.

Let us know how you are doing.

Lois

PS I never understood why so few people tried octreotide-- perhaps it was the cost. I was driving 5 hours to see Dr. Hoeldtke at West Virginia University who was one of the first to use octreotide. Google Hoeldtke and you'll find lots about octreotide.

My mom takes octreotide subQ for her carcinoid syndrome, but she's been on IM injections in the past. The IM shot is called Sandostatin LAR and lasts about 28 days. The SQ shot is given in your abdomen and lasts a few hours (it's like an insulin shot).

Yes, the GI side effects do wear off, but it usually takes up to a few weeks.