Able to still work?

EarthMother

As I read the posts it amazes me how much each of us have survived and how much we continue to face these challanged and just "keep on keeping on."

Up until this past August I considered my relapses brief (a few months every few years when it is really bad) but for the most part if I paced myself I could still manage to work. But I am simply not recovering from this last bout -- five months now and counting.

My question is how many people had to stop working, or lost their jobs? What about disability claims and POTS? If we find it hard to find a doctor who understands how to the insurance companies view this as a disability?

EarthMother ;)

EarthMother,

I had to give up my career (been working since I was 21, I'm now 52) this past April. I, too, was waiting for my problems to go away. I waited a year and they didn't. I am in the process of applying for Social Security disability. That is a whole different issue which I'm just learning about from reading stuff on these forums (see archives), and joining a Yahoo group called disinissue (disability insurance issues), and emailing people in my area (from the support groups) to find a good lawyer. The first part of the process is you just apply. I'm at the second stage, where I've already been denied. I'm now looking for a neuropsychologist and person to do a functional capacity exam in my area, Baltimore.