Really Hungry After Exercise

yogini

I exercise regularly and have been doing so for years, but I've never had a problem with getting really hungry after I've worked out. I'm no doctor, but it seems that blood sugar could be an issue...Are you eating before you go work out? Some carbs and protein? Also, Gatorade or Nuun or something to replace your electrolytes may help.

Had that response on occasion. Usually get mild appetite suppression after exercise, but have been times a really deep hunger comes instead. My body response is pretty unreliable! Often pushed to deep calorie deficit (couple thousand kcals in the red) in the past and rarely triggered "hunger", just eventual deep fatigue (can be explained if alternate energy is being properly maintained and if a "stress response" is triggered to postpone hunger in lieu of more pressing challenges). Some varied responses are not uncommon for otherwise healthy exercisers. It seems much has to do with the "metabolic state" the body is in before and during exercise... and much of exercise physiology focuses on manipulating that state pre, during & post exercise (especially for fat loss). Potsgirl is right on target about pre exercise feeding (of appropriate nutrients)... that is suggested to avoid a "rebound" hunger and instead go for a "steady burn"!

In the spirit of your "Apart from an increase in POTS symptoms" premise... I will say that I often embrace the natural swings that the body has because they often do serve a purpose (for example, crudely speaking, insulin "pumps" energy & nutrients back in to healing muscles). The extent one can and should do this will vary. I mention it because it seems like hunger can get triggered from "specific shortages" as well as overall simple "energy/glucose" levels. I don't know the details, but I get that sense... for what it's worth.