Decorating Ideas

Rachel

Have any of you decorated your wheelchair, walker, etc? Do you have any good decorating ideas to share? (Or even a picture of your decorated item!)

I'd like to decorate my wheelchair, but I'm struggling to come up with a good idea. I wish I could embroider. I think it would be fun to embroider a few scattered flowers on the upholstery. Any other suggestions?

;) Rachel

Rachel,

Have you tried embroidery? It's really not that difficult. I'm not good at sewing at all, but I love doing embroidery. My latest projects are baby bibs (they're small enough, they don't take so long.) I like it because I can do it while watching TV, then I don't feel like I'm accomplishing something!

I bet there are good guides online on how to get started, or you could ask at your local craft store if they know of anyone who could give you a few pointers.

Believe me! It's much easier than it looks!

Amy

Amy,

Hmmm...maybe I should learn how to embroider. I could practice for a while, and then I could try it out on my old wheelchair. If it works and looks nice, then I could do my new chair. Would there be a way to tie off the floss and not have it show (since I wouldn't be able to tie it off on the underneath side of the fabric)?

Rachel

A good starting project for learning to embroider is to make bookmarks - they are small and quite quick, and you can try out all sorts of different patterns. They also make great home-made christmas presents too.

Flop

PS - I can do cross-stich but I haven't done any proper embroidery.

Amy,

cross-stitch is usually done on a special fabric called aida which is woven with gaps in the threads to make tiny squares with holes at each corner. Most of the stitches are formed by a cross pattern of two stitches. If you use very large aida even fairly young children can learn to do cross-stitch with wool threaded on a blunt needle.