Sending Job Applications In

Okay after trying to think about where to post this i'm just gonna post here if it needs moved, feel free to do so.

I have been feeling a little better (still symptomatic) but mostly i need the money so i'm looking for a job, part time. I have never been employed before, so i have no real "experiences". I do have a lot of volunteer stuff which is on the resume. My main question is how do you tell them about being chronically ill? I mean i don't want to scare them but don't want to be in the dark either. It's a touchy subject. I was looking into one job but after hearing all i would have to do i decided againest it and the pay wasn't even worth it.

If anyone has advice it would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

susie :rolleyes:

My understanding is that you are only required to disclose your disability if it will interfere with your ability to perform your job. I would look at disability advocacy sites for information on what your obligations are. Additionally, I wouldn't put that info on your resume, if that is what you are also asking.

Maybe some folks here have some disability advocacy references for you? If so, folks please do share :rolleyes:

Nina

Guest tearose

hi lucky, it is great you are up to trying to work!

Here is what I have learned...not one of us is the same so you must hand tailor your job search to you! :rolleyes:

Just tell the prospective employer you have "experience" in voluntary positions and excellent experience wtih raising livestock...probably a 12 hour a day job at times right? Speak about your skills and dedication, loyalty....and tell them all the things you can do.

Once you get a call in you can ask...are there stairs? Is there parking close to the building?

I find if I can get through the first interview, it is best to express my needs during the second interview.

I don't tell them anything before because there is no reason to!

Does this help?

good luck, I am looking for work now too!

tearose