Help For Fast Breathing

Radha

when i get a hyper, adrenaline surge, i have a very hard problem, hard time handling the fast breathing like you are running, but i am just lying down, i try to distract myself and take deep slow breaths but nothing helps, any suggestions or ways to help slow it down quicker? thanks, this is really exhausting!

radha

Hi Radha,

I'm a newbie, so forgive me if my suggestions are old news to you. I've had the same thing happen to me when I was in the hospital with really bad tachy- 180-200bpm. I was breathing really fast and the ER doc said I was having a panic attack. The only thing I was paniced about was my out of control HR! It seems to me that it's a chicken or egg question- which came first? Chances are your fast HR is what's causing the rpid breathing. Mt doc has recommended bearing down like you are about to have a BM to slow the HR. It seems to help. When my HR is slowed, my breathing returns to normal. Hope this helps.

Julie

when i get a hyper, adrenaline surge, i have a very hard problem, hard time handling the fast breathing like you are running, but i am just lying down, i try to distract myself and take deep slow breaths but nothing helps, any suggestions or ways to help slow it down quicker? thanks, this is really exhausting!

radha

I lay down, elevate my legs and force myself take slow, deep breaths (I have a way of counting to keep them slow...I count "one-onethousand, two-onethousand" when I breathe in, hold it for one second, then breathe out for four seconds). Most of the time it's a matter of waiting out my surges, but if I allow myself to breathe too quickly (like my body wants to) then I make things worse. It may be difficult to force yourself to breathe slowly when this happens, but for me that's the only way to keep the surges from going out of control.

Hope this helps!

-Lauren

Dear Radha,