introduction

melissa

Hello everyone. My name is Melissa and I have been lurking around the forums for awhile but have been too shy to post. I appreciate all the work that the moderators do on this forum, because it is truly helpful to know I am not alone. I am in my senior year of college and have been dealing with the symptoms of POTS since my freshman year of university.

I am just trying to get through my last year of school, but I have fainting without warning most of the time, so it puts me in a rather akward postition in some classes. It always seems to occur at the worst possible time (like in the middle of the street) and most attempts by doctors to control them have been unsuccessful thus far. There are periods of lessening of spells when they start a new med, but usually it fizzles out after a while.

I am majoring in education hoping to teach middle school science. I am doing a practicum this semester and have not had any problems with symptoms in the practicum or in any of my education classes. However, I met with the dean of the college today and he is trying to get me to change my major when I am one semester from graduation. I have worked extremely hard to get where I am currently and this statement was a major blow to me. I have no trouble completing the classwork and have very good grades, but the college still feels that this may not be the right career choice. However, when I had this discussion with the college when I first started college, they felt that it was a good choice and that they would be willing to work with me to the end.