pacemakers

Hi everyone. I return to my cardiologist next week and the pacemaker talk will likely present again. I have been pushing for one for a couple of years but my cardio wanted to wait as long as possible. For those of you with them, has it really helped? I have MVP with NCS and tachy-brady. I know that my cardio is consdiering a dual chamber pacemaker for me. I really don't know what this means. The point of the pacemaker for me would be to try to reduce the amount of NCS. I have a port-a-cath which allows me to have iv tx daily which helps but boy, do I feel it when I don't do it. So, has a pacmaker helped anyone of you for your dysautonomia? I've read previous threads about ablation having negative effects but I have tachy and brady. Anyone else out there in this position and chosen this treatment? Thank you!

Carmen

I got a dual chamber pacemaker in February 2003. No meds seemed to help so it was the last resort. It will not help your tachy, it will not reduce your arrythmias. It will only keep you out of the valleys from the brady episodes. It has been *NO* help with my NCS but I was in a position where my LTD was going to be cut off if I refused treatment. of course, once I got the pacemaker they cut it off anyway and I am still fighting it but all in all - no, it hasn't helped me. There may be some on here it has helped but I have asked in the past and no one has really replied to me. I still have pain at the surgical site and cannot sleep on my left side. Which, in my case is bad because I slept on my left side for 43 years so now if I get 2-3 hours of sleep a night i'm doing good.