Ivabradine, tVNS, lightheaded, hyperPOTS, losartan..my experience

Photon

I’m writing in case my story can help anyone. My profession is as a scientist so I am able to read the literature and navigate the medical system a bit differently than people who are not a part of it.

Ivabradine: Like many people, after months and months of illness, I was diagnosed with hyperPOTS. This was after 6 months in bed debilitated and out of work. Lying in bed, I realized taking my BP (and HR) over and over again that when my resting heart rate was high I felt worse, when it was lower, I felt “better”.  I realized that my BP was really not that important but heart rate was the key. I persuaded my cardiologist to give me Ivabradine 2.5mg twice/day. This stopped the light headed feeling and enabled me to exercise a few minutes a day. Since POTs is a circulation problem it doesn’t seem to matter if your BP is high or low, slowing HR is a goal. Beta blockers did not do enough and made me feel awful. Ivabradine is off-label for POTs. It is a heart failure medication, thus it is not covered by insurance. It can be about 450/month but that is at full strength, 5mg twice a day. Many people need only half that or even a quarter. There are also other ways to get it from Canada. It is in clinical trials for POTs. It will be approved, it is just a matter of time.