Dental work/high HR

Don

I'm still learning about my condition.  I went to the dentist today for a crown over where I had a root canal about a month ago.  Before doing the temporary crown placement I was bleeding a lot and the dentist gave me a gel on my gums to stop the bleeding.  I didn't know it had epinephrine in it or that this may be bad for me.  If someone could clarify I'd be grateful.  Anyway, I monitored my HR throughout my procedure on my Fitbit and it stayed around 85.  When the procedure finished, I stood up and immediately felt odd and clammy.  From the time I walked from the exam room to the desk to check out, my pulse hit 193 bpm and my Fitbit started flashing.  Didn't know it would do that.  Anyway, I got in my car and sat for a minute and my pulse went below 100.  I drove home and checked my BP and it was 150/114.  I started drinking water and took my blood pressure again in an hour and my BP was 114/90.  My pulse has been hovering around 100 since my procedure.  It now 6:20p.  My appt was at 11 this morning.  I sent my neuro a message to ask her thoughts.  My wife works at a hospital on a cardiac floor and told me to notify my doc.  It was a new experience for me.  I've never had that happen.  

Hi Don,

weird enough it started for me all at the dental office as well right after local anesthesia ( lidocaine with epi ), to the point that the dentist called an ambulance, and took me to the ER as my pulse was in the 180s....

after that several episodes up to 180 but laying down all the time,  I haven't been formally diagnosed yet, but everything else has been ruled out.

The last dentist visit I had I informed them of my condition. They put it in my chart and told me it wasn't a problem. They have different meds that wouldn't effect my heart rate. I would suggest for now to drink lots of water and relax while you hear back from the doc. If you feel the need to go to the ER. Better safe than sorry.