Hip/girdle Area/low Back Pain After Standing A While?

sue1234

I was just wondering if anyone else had this? I do not have EDS, so it is not any type of hereditary joint laxity issue. I'm not saying I couldn't have acquired some laxity related somehow to POTS!? I find in the last 2 years I've been able to build up my standing time from about 10 minutes 8 years ago to about 2 hours now. That 2 hours is NOT standing still at all, but like moving around in the kitchen constantly while cooking. I might be up for 20 minutes, then feel I should sit for 10 minutes. Then, back up for 15 minutes and down for 5. And so on.

I've been building this for the last 2 years. For the whole first year, I told myself that after 6 years of mostly sitting, I had to slowly build up muscle strength. Well, I'm sure I have built some leg and core strength to go ahead and be upright for those 2 hours. BUT, what stops my upright time is "girdle" pain. By the end of my time limit, my hip bones hurt, my very lower back hurts, and everywhere in between those. I don't know why, and that is bothering me. I was told I could use hip replacements, but that doesn't explain the pain around the whole girdle/upper thigh area, so not sure why I hurt so much. My upper back doesn't bother me an ounce from standing and bending to cut/cook, so I don't think it is just unused muscles.

Sorry for the rambling...it is hard to explain it all. Anyone else have a clue why I have issues standing? I just want to mention that before POTS, I had zero pain standing all day. The first 6 years of POTS I had zero pain with my limited standing.

I have lower back and pelvic girdle pain from a bulging disc in my lumbar area that sometimes contacts my sciatic nerve. I isn't shooting pain (anymore, it was originally), it's more annoying, sore, fatigued pain. Now of course I do have EDS so that doesn't help as it also contributes to pain in the are with subluxations that keep inflammation in the area.