Looking Back, Blessings From Pots

So I am a newbie, still having a hard time adjusting to life with Pots. I was just wondering if any of you who have had it for a while are able to look back and see anything good that has happened as a result of having Pots? For instance, a strengthened relationship, new friendships, lessons learned, etc. If you think of anything let me know, it gives me hope to hear about the good things that happen and not just the bad. Share even the smallest things.

So far, I think I have started to learn how to accept help from others. I've learned to let go a little bit, and not be such a control freak. And hopefully through this I will be better at not letting stress get to me.

What about you guys?

Hi MamawithPots

It took me a few months to adjust to being ill and that was a hard period. When I first got ill I was bed ridden for a significant amount of the day, just able to be up for a few minutes at a time.

That said, after a few months I decided Pots wasn't going to beat me and that there was still enjoyment in life. I focused on the positives, particularly my two children. While I couldn't take them to the playground, I could still spend time with them, reading, playing board games, watching movies etc. I also took up some part-time distance education (that I could complete on my laptop in bed) that kept me feeling like I was making progress in life despite my illness.

I also decided that I would take whatever physical capability I had and do what I could every day to be upright and to expand my envelope of functioning through graded exercise. At the start I did this with the help of an exercise physiologist. Over the past three years I went from bed bound and only being upright a few minutes a day, to returning to work and doing 30 minutes of cardio exercise most days. I am still symptomatic, but it's significantly improved.