Newbie On The Road To Diagnosis

LittleOne

Hi all

I'm 30, female and based in the UK.

About 6 weeks ago at work (I'm a midwife) after lunch I got quite lightheaded, dizzy, breathless and had profuse sweating. I was sent home from work after an ECG as my pulse was racing and have remained on sick leave. Bloods have so far been fine.

I started to notice that my heart rate increased dramatically whenever I stood from lying or sitting, I become lightheaded and dizzy and my resperation rate increases. I have a finger probe I use for work so can monitor my heart rate and O2 saturations at home. I have also noticed if i'm stood for too long or out shopiing that my nails become blue and when checked with my finger probe I actually have de-sats down to 91-92%. I get breathless very easily. Even just changing the sheets on my bed by heart rate has gotten up to 160.

It took me three GP's before I found one who knew of POTS and felt I had symptoms. I have so far had a 24 ECG, results not back yet and am awaiting a cardiology review. My GP is happy for me to return to work but not in a clinical capacity as she doesn't want me on my feet for too long (not a lot of sitting involved with midwifery!). I'm just waiting for our occupational health department to let me back.

I'm just wondering if POTS can come on all of a sudden? I don't think I've had these symptoms before but I have had very little energy for quite a while.

I also have depression for which I'm on Citalopram (recently reduced to 10mg) and endometriosis for which I'm not currently on any 'treatment' for (my educated choice). I may also have fibomyalgia as the slightest touch or pressure on my skin is painful.

Nice to virtually meet you all!

x

Welcome to the forum. Sorry you are struggling with such symptoms.