Compromised Immune System Too???

megsmit6

I was diagnosed with POTS in July of this year and things have just been spinning out of control since. One of the worst things I have noticed is I get sick so easy now. I work in the ER at night so I am exosed to a lot of different things in one shift but I have been doing this job for 2 years and I have not had problems before. Now, I catch pneumonia like every 3 months which puts me in the ICU because of my POTS. Does anyone else notice a connection with POTS and compromised immune system??

There are a few of us with hypogammaglobulinemia. I have low IGG levels on subset level 1. So, there are issues with the immune system. I have almost no immunity to pneumonia. Of the 26 strains tested I barely had any immunity to 6 of them. I'm not one for vaccines - since my dad got Guillain Barre from a flu shot and I don't want a vaccine because of seeing how that goes. Doctor said I could die if I get pneumonia. An immunologist is who checked me for this.

Issie

I just have my own experience to share. I have had POTS symptoms for 20+ years and my POTS really flared up a year ago.

For many years it seems like I have caught every germ that passed by me. I had at least 4 colds every year.

This past June I started seeing a doctor who practices Functional Medicine. One of her objectives is to strengthen my immune system. She has me on a ton of supplements (vitamin D, etc) that are supposed to strengthen my immune system. I'm also on a very restrictive diet with no refined foods. Amazingly, I have not caught a cold in over 6 months. This is unheard of for me! I've even been around my niece and nephew when they were sick at the beginning of the school year and I didn't catch their colds.

It's hard to say for sure, but maybe my doctor's efforts are paying off and I am developing a stronger immune system.