Stopped Taking Metoprolol . . . Fatigue Much Much Better

Has anyone else found Metoprolol to cause extreme fatigue? Oddly, I'd been on it with the exception of one week for 9 months, so I don't know why the fatigue suddenly became so bad and wouldn't have thought it was the metoprolol, but two people (one my nurse friend who has POTS, and one my cousin who is a doctor who specializes in chronic illness) told me that it can cause extreme fatigue, at the same time that I was experiencing extreme fatigue, so I took that as a sign to go off of it. I didn't notice improvement in the fatigue right away; it took maybe two weeks. But now I feel like a whole new person, and I'm wondering how much of my recent crappiness was POTS, and how much was the Metoprolol. I'm fairly new to all of this and I'm guessing this is a common experience - just a ton of trial and error and guesswork.

So anyway, I'm really really hoping I maintain how I'm feeling now. I had gotten so fatigued that I was getting in bed every night at 8 (but not falling asleep, of course). My husband would ask if I wanted to walk across the street to get dinner from the food truck, and I wouldn't even have the energy to do that. It was so awful. I wouldn't have guessed it could be the Metoprolol (I was on 25 mg. once a day) but my improvement is so marked that I have to think it was.

So now I'm not on any prescriptions, I'm just guzzling water mixed with EFS and exercising 4-5 times a week. I was supposed to see my cardiologist this week but I had to reschedule, so we'll see how I do over the next six weeks.

Hi Shannon, I'm so glad your feeling more energized. That's great news!! Your working out a lot too, that's great that you find the time with the two little ones. I wish I had more time to hit the gym, I signed mine up for the kids club @ the gym and then they got a nasty bug woo hoo! Lol.

My fingers are crossed that you are on the road to recovery!!!

Hi Shannon,