Vandy? Worth A Try?

mieux7

Ok, I'm a newbie - not to POTS but both posting to the forum and this particular crash I'm in right now. Lucked out and got on SSDI my second try, so have a little income, but no medical insurance (checking to see if Medicaid will help, it'll be a while before I qualify for Medicare). Was originally diagnosed by Randy Thompson but now am living in the middle of rural Arkansas (long story) and NOBODY gets ANS diseases - especially given my multiple diagnoses which sort of cancel out all the usual treatment options. Meds I've been taking for almost two years are giving me fits and I've got no means to update my testing, see if they need to be changed, adjusted, what.

If I can't get treatment any other way, I'm considering applying for Vandy's inpatient program. I know it's driven by research protocols. I also know I don't present as the typical POTS patient - too much of a complicated mess! - but then maybe that describes all of us.

So my question is: has anybody had recent experience at Vandy? Is it worth a try for me? Got any other advice or support? It's getting to the point I'm almost non-functional and gotta admit it's a bit scary. I thought getting disability was going to be the hardest hurdle. Welcome to the real world of the Big D. Help!!

Thanks to one and all ... and all the best/blessings as well. MStarr.

Hi Meri! I'm just now undergoing a full assessment for autonomic neuropathy at Vandy. I was referred to Vandy by my GI due to some wierd symptoms such as severe shortness of breath when walking, obstipated constipation, hypersomnia, severe migraines and a host of other symptoms. When I was diagnosed with AN in Feb. of 2009, I had a full battery of cardio tests and I did not have POTS at that time. Surprisingly, when I went to Vandy on June 30 2010, my heart rate did jump 30 beats per minute and I was diagnosed with POTS.