Are We Crazy?????

janiedelite

So I've been pretty stable since coming back from Mayo in February. I was diagnosed with mildy hyperadrenergic POTS resulting from small fiber neuropathy, with slow intestinal motility and possible MCAD. Stable means that I haven't been confined to bed like I was last year, that I sleep about 10-11 hours a night, take an hour or so to get up and moving and during the day I take 3 or 4 breaks to lay down and get blood back up to my brain! :) I can drive safely short distances most days. I can do housecleaning, accompany my mom to her appointments, go for 1 or 2 short walks most days. I wear compression religiously, push salt and fluids, rest when needed.

We've been married since 3/07 and I'm 35 and hubby is 32. We both want kids. Mayo said it was okay for us to try to conceive. We tried a few months last year, and for the few months since I got back from Mayo without success. I know it might take longer, as I am 35. I'm a nurse (disabled due to POTS), and hubby is a certified special education teacher in our local school district. He's also pursuing his doctorate in order to become an administrator.

We have my parents close by (although mom has cancer, she has at least several years to live and functions well) and his folks are within an hour drive. His sister her hubby are close.

Last weekend we attended a weekend of mandatory training in order to get certified as foster parents and start the adoption process for a child with special needs. (We aren't going to work as foster parents. We just have to get certified in order to adopt from DHS. And a special needs child is any child 5 or older in the DHS foster system who is available for adoption, or any child with medical or psychological needs.) We're thinking of adopting a 5 to 8-year-old girl. The whole process usually takes a good year until the child is placed in our home, so this won't happen overnight!