Need To Redue Work Hours.. Help

mjan

OK.. my symptoms..mainly fatigue including MUSCLE fatigue..coupled with vision problems is making my job very difficult. I have mentioned to my supervisor that I am thinking of this and what did she think. If I reduce my FTE hours from 40 to 32 could I ever get it back? She told me to discuss with the VP..she could not say.

Now you must know that this agency is cutting back AND letting folks go. I am a social worker and we are actually a bit short in that area by 1.5 social workers..but there is a freeze on hires.

What I guess I am asking is that if I reduce my hours due to a medical reason.. am I setting myself up for being let go?

I dont yet qualify for FMLA for another 3 months ( I checked).. can get a medical leave but they cannot guarantee my job security until 7/09.

Any ideas? Dos.. donts??

Thanks Jan

Sorry, I don't have advice about cutting back your hours, but I wanted to suggest you have a long-term disability policy in place! Your employer might already pay for it in your benefits package, but if not then you should sign up asap! With my policy, they looked back at my work hours for the 6 months prior to the date I quit work and decided that for the last 3 months I worked I called out sick so much or left early they were able to reduce the waiting period for payment by that 3 months! Also, make sure you sign up for the maximum benefit available (many plans just pay 50% of your pre-disability income, but you can upgrade to 66% for very little out-of-pocket.)

I'm not encouraging you to quit your job or anything, but you never know what the future holds especially with dysautonomia. I'm sorry you're having to make these decisions!

Take care, Janie

My doctor encouraged me to wait for FMLA. Then you can reduce hours with a letter from a doctor with job security (up to 60 days a year). So you could work 4-days a week for a year (52 weeks=52 days plus some flexibility with additional days) and not lose your job.