Tapering Effexor And Spinning!

Hi-

This is my first time posting. I've always been reading the forum discussions, and now I thought I'd try a post. I hope I'm doing this right.

I was dx with POTS at Mayo in Sept.'06.It's been an up and down ride (of course...and literally!)

The only meds. I've remained on right now are Effexor and Klonopin(at night to sleep).(Off Midodrine and Mestinon now for 8 months). My doc suggested tapering off of the Effexor to see if it would help with my fatigue. I have been slowly downing my dose all month from 150mg a day until now with a dose of 37.5mg every other day. Problem is...wow! I'm light-headed and dizzy much more than usual! Can't drive... it's hard to function. I have three kids... one with autism and I'm really having a hard time. This is almost like when I initially got sick.

My question is...Has anyone ever come off of Effexor with lightheadedness like this? I don't know if my symptoms are from the withdrawl or the POTS.

I'm having no problems with anxiety or depression with this low dose, but the brain fog is killing me! Should I try to hang on to see if the dizziness goes away after withdrawl is complete...whenever that will be... or maybe my body just needs an SSRI to function? Any thought?

Thanks everyone- This forum has been great for me... not only the helpful suggestions, but knowing that I'm not alone. Maybe I'm ready now not only to post, but to answer some posts and try to give back...