Is Genetic Pots Always Hyperadrenergic?

summer

Hi All!

I posted a couple of times a few weeks ago prior to autonomic testing, including TTT. I'm so relieved to finally have a diagnosis that makes sense. It must be strange for these ANS doctors to see people so happy and relieved to receive diagnoses like POTS, but I suppose they do realize what most patients have been through prior to seeing them.

The doctor was wonderful and took a lot of time explaining things to me which I really appreciated. But of course, The more I understand, the more questions I have!

He feels I have had mild orthostatic intolerance since I was a teenager, but that a viral infection, and post viral fatigue have dramatically worsened my OI. This made so much sense to me and explained a lot of things I couldn't understand about myself for years!

I have a couple of first degree relatives who also have had symptoms of OI, so he suggested it was likely genetic considering that, and the fact that I did not show signs of periferal neuropathy with the testing. He also mentioned that I was hyperadrenergic once during our conversation although he did not clearly say "you have hyperadrenergic pots".

So my question is this. Is genetic POTS alway hyperadrenergic? Also, I had a very bad reaction to one dose of an SNRI that was suggested by one of my docs a while ago (VERY anxious, worsened tachycardia, muscle tightness). It was frightening and I will never take it again. Has anyone else experienced this and could it be related to hyperadrenergic POTS?

Summer

Sorry, I don't know much about genetic POTS - hopefully Ernie or one of the other members with familial POTS will be able to chime in. On the separate issue of horrible reactions to an SNRI, I had a similar experience when I first took Seroxat / Parotetine an SSRI. If you do a search for "flop paroxetine" you should find some more details.

Flop

Hi Flop,