How Is Hyperadrenergenic Pots Diagnosed?

vonant

Hi

I'm new to all of this and haven't even had a TTT yet.

What is the criteria for hyperadrenergenic POTS? How is it diagnosed?

I've had a rash around the back of my neck for years and since my fatigue symptoms started I get adrenaline rushes when I'm just about to fall asleep and even wake up in the middle of the night from adrenaline rushes?

Does that mean I have hyper POTS? I hope not :(

Hi Vonant,

Sorry to hear that you're experiencing these symptoms. While we are unable to tell you here on the forum if you have a specific diagnosis or not, here is link to our physician's list: http://dinet.org/index.php/physician-list You can search for a doctor who specializes in dysautonomia/POTS.

Do you have a primary doctor who would be willing to refer you for a tilt table test? If you are concerned about a hyperadrenergic response then you should have catecholamine (Norepinephrine levels) measured at supine and standing throughout the test.

Also, here is a link that mentions the various subtypes: http://circ.ahajournals.org/content/127/23/2336.full

Sarah

Adrenaline surges can happen in both hyper and non-hyper POTS, so it's impossible to tell without testing. Adrenaline surges in POTS can be caused by a wide variety of things: low blood volume (the body releases adrenaline when your blood volume is low, or even when you're dehydrated), low blood pressure or rapidly fluctuating blood pressure (the release of adrenaline is the body's attempt to normalize blood pressure), rapidly fluctuating blood sugar levels, or of course, hyper POTS. My POTS doc discussed all of this with me on my first visit, and said that almost all of his patients, even those without hyper POTS, suffered from adrenaline surges at some point, especially at night.