Student Loan Discharge

Dawg Tired

Yes, indeed, I am still fighting to get my student loans discharged. I have been fighting this battle since 2003 and Saturday I recieved a letter from the U.S. Department of Education and I thought "aha! It's finally resolved!" Only to open the letter and see that I had been, once again, "turned over to a private collection agancy due to being in default".

Okay, I have harassed my good-natured doctor for... well, almost 4 years now! He has filled out form after form, written letters, made phone calls on my behalf. Each time something is mailed, I follow it up with a phone call to make sure the form or letter has arrived at the proper destination. But apparently, the U.S. Department of Education does not recognize the state agency I have been dealing with. Or the state agancy simply ignores protocol. Here is the web address of where to download the disability form once you get the the FEDERAL level. (It looks just like the state one to me - but what do I know??)

Student loan forms

Oh do i understand your frustration!!.. I ve been fighting with the student loan discharge office in my state as well!

:):) I fought for over a year.. they kept telling me that they never recieved my forms and apps.. or that the forms where filled out wrong... they finally after i think the 3rd 4th application accepted it and i was approved or so i thought! for discharge of my loan... I never recieved any thing in the mail telling me other wise..

WELL.. COme about a month or so ago I got a letter in the mail telling me that my loan had been turned over to some agency..(cant think of it right now).. and that i should be recieveing information about starting monthly payments on my loan.. I was like WHAT!!!???

they said that my file had been turned over to the permanet discharge office.. and that even though i qualified for condotion dischagre.. that based on medical review i dont qualify for PERmanent discharge.. its abunch of hooey i tell ya