Need To Know Question

Hi,

Though I have had this illness for a long time, I am new to the diagnosis and still learning about it. I guess my question is- what is the prognosis for dysautonomia? Do most people get worse? Has anyone ever died from this? I was told it is not a "life threatening disease" but rather a "life altering disease". I guess what really scares me is when my heart is racing and I have palp after palp, I'm dizzy, nauseated etc etc - This is not taxing to the body? I try to tell myself when it is happening that it is normal for us and my heart is not just going to stop beating. But I can't help but wonder how the heart takes all of this on. Can anyone offer any insights on this? Does anyone else think about this?

Thank you so much.

Susan

Hi, Susan. I think at some point nearly all of us have had fears regarding whether or not the disease is terminal and what type of damage is being done to our heart. Generally speaking, POTS is not life threatening and does not have long-term effect (meaning structural damage) to the heart. Some discussion has been done on the forum so you might want to search that particular topic.

Other types of dysautonomia can cause damage or be terminal. These are the rarer types which fall under the MSA category and it also is dependent on any other coexisting problems. For instance, I have various structural and heart rhythm problems in addition to my dysautonomia (which is NOT POTS) so my prognosis is different than the average forum member.

If what you are looking at is "regular old POTS" (WHATEVER that is!!!), generally, there is not heart damage and it is not life threatening but life altering as you stated. Good luck and I hope this makes sense!

Carmen

hi susan,