Question for caregivers

PattiL

Hi everyone,

I am just wondering, as a caregiver, how do you manage working? I've been very fortunate that I really haven't had to work while Chrissy was at her worst, but it's time I start. Chrissy is staying at a dorm and that is so much better than commuting, but there are so many days when Chrissy is unable to go to class, much less able to drive herself to her Dr.'s appts.. I fear that if I get a job I'd get fired within the first few weeks from taking off so many days to take her. My background is secretarial/ad. asst. I'm thinking I could probably work for a temp. agency and just go by a day to day basis. Have any of you done that? How about those of you that work full-time? Are your bosses just very understanding? My husband can take off once in a while, but, he's not 'into' the POTS as much as I am and I'm afraid he'd miss something. I love being available to her whenever she needs me and her college is only 40 minutes from home. She loves being on her own and has definitely become more independent in so many other ways. I am so proud of how she has handled everything with her professors, etc.

I'd appreciate any suggestions/ideas.

Thanks,

Patti

hi patti -

if i win the lottery anytime soon (which is highly unlikely seeing as i don't play...) i'll hire you as my own personal assistant...sound like a plan?? i'd be very flexible with your schedule :)

all joking aside though, the only way my mom has been able to manage this past year (and at other times previously) has been by using her FMLA time, which is federally mandated time off (unpaid) for a variety of situations, one of which is to care for an ill family member. unfortunately though it only applies after you have worked for an employer for a year (with a min of 1250hrs for part-timers) so it isn't any help initially. it's something to keep in mind though still b/c with temp work you wouldn't ever become qualified under its provisions.