Frustrated With Doctors

vepa

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to this thread, and here's the deal:

I am absolutely certain I have POTS, but am unable to get a diagnosis. Since I was a young teenager, I've had issues with dizziness or blacking out when standing, my hands often going numb (and swollen and red), extreme fatigue, and headaches. When I read about POTS or read forums with people talking about POTS, it all sounds exactly like my experience. I have done the stand-test on my own multiple times, with consistent results of my heart rate going from 70-80bpm to anywhere from 115-150bpm. 

However, every doctor I have visited has told me it's simply anxiety, dehydration, or "completely normal to get a 'head rush' if you stand up too quickly." If I bring up POTS on my own, they brush me off. There seems to only be one doctor in my entire state that specializes in POTS and my attempts to schedule an appointment with her have been ignored.  I also can't afford to travel. So I've basically just been trying to drink a lot of water and eat more salt based on what I've researched myself, but I'm not a doctor and have no idea what I am doing. I would really like to have an actual doctor to help me with treatment and to get officially diagnosed.   

I'm at my wits end trying to overcome the health care obstacle course. It's expensive and unbelievably frustrating.