Hr Wrist Monitors

stellaluna

I am thinking about purchasing a wrist HR monitor (a few also have BP). I am an active elementary teacher during the day. Normally, I listen to my body warning signs to alert me when I need to slow down and work from a sitting position (I have never passed out thankfully--very worried that will affect my employment if I reach that point).

I'm hoping a wrist monitor (subtly hidden under clothing cuff---also many people wear those step and health bands so may not be so noticeable....) could help me see when i REALLY need to slow down/sit down. I have an arm cuff BP/HR machine but cannot/will not check while teaching and with students present.

My question is--- because there are so many options and such price differences sometimes, does anyone with experience with them have recommendations or ones they did not find helpful / useful for whatever reason?

I just upgraded to polar A300 watch with the polar h7 chest strap hr monitor. Before this i had one made by sportsline it worked just did not have all the features i wanted. I have not been successful using the wrist hr monitors as they cannot catch my hr when my BP is low. My cardiologist also told me to use the chest strap variety because they are more accurate. The Polar h7 is bluetooth enabled so I can also see hr on my phone and do not have to use the watch if I don't want too. Convenient when you don't want to be constantly looking at your watch or doing so would be perceived as inappropriate. Hope you find what works for you.

The Polar brand with chest strap are known to be most accurate. However, I got tired of dealing with the chest strap every day, so I have a Mio Alpha, which measures heart rate via wrist. It works just as well as any chest strap monitor I've used. The only thing is, it's not that small. I like it, though, I think it looks good.