New. Just Diagnosed (Sort Of) At Mayo. Lots Of Questions.

Kris4444

Hi,

My name is Kris and I am confused and exhausted and hoping that you can give me some information and support. I just spent almost a week at Mayo in Rochester, MN where they did ANS testing on me. I was told that I don't have POTS but rather a "hyperadrenergic state".

My norepinephrine levels are 656 supine and 1199 upright. My blood pressure goes up when I stand. I asked the doctor if I had POTS and he laughed and said no. Yet when looking at my medical summary from Mayo my diagnosis is POTS. After doing a ton of searching I realized that I might have what is known as "Hyper Pots" but I understand that Mayo doesn't use that as a diagnosis?

All of my symptoms started back in 2008 with a terrible EBV infection. At that time I was dealing with Fibromyalgia and some herniated discs but other than that was fairly healthy. I was a professional horse trainer and very fit. I was 5'9" and 160 pounds. We could not seem to get the EBV under control. My titers were 2,850. Soon I began having issues with the tendons in my arms and feet. I had extreme pain in my joints and developed Raynaud's phenomenon, severe colonic inertia (I could not have a bowel movement), flushing, malar rash, excessive sweating and vertigo when I would stop exercising. After seeing many rheumatologists I was diagnosed with scleroderma. This diagnosis didn't seem to fit so I made an appointment with the leading sclero doctor and was told that I don't have sclero, rather I have undiferentiated connective tissue disease or UCTD because I had no positive ANA and no dialated capillary loops in my nailfolds to fit the diagnostic criteria for sclero. I did exhibit some signs of lupus (the malar rash) and sjogren's (dry eyes and mouth) and the gastroentestinal issues which could be related to sclero. I also ballooned in weight and I now weigh 225. I have NEVER been this big in my entire life!