New Here. Pots, Eds, Mg?

kt42487

Hi all, I'm a newbie. I was diagnosed with POTS last October after months of fighting a GAD diagnosis. After finally getting my internist and cardiologist to stop looking at me like an insane hypochondriac it is now believed that I my POTS is secondary to ehlers-danlos. I score a 7/9 on the beighton, have pelvic organ prolapse, mitral valve prolapse, early onset varicose veins (age 17), gorlin's sign (my tongue touches my nose), flat feet, tmjd, knee tendon repairs, reoccurring shoulder bursitis and subluxations of my hips, knees, ankles and shoulders, and now POTS. All of these joint problems and I am old 25 years old. I am back and forth on whether I would like to proceed with genetic testing as I am afraid to be labeled for health insurance purposes. So my questions: Any other EDSers out there? What works for you to control your POTS symptoms? I find I mild relief from fludro and atenolol. I have tried bendzos, SSRIs and midrorine all of which were a total disaster. My issue is, if I do have EDS then being on fludro may deteriorate my joints and skin even more, yet it is the only thing thus far that has allowed me to get out of bed and I am single mother to a 16 month old little girl (her father is deceased). Another question is in regards to myasthenia gravis, I noticed that there is a medication that is regularly used for MG that also helps with POTS. I have been having a choking sensation as well as facial numbness/tingling, sudden onset lazy eye and occasional dropping eye lids ( feels like when Novocaine is wearing off all over my whole head). During my last visit to my internist I brought this up and she said she was able to palpate the top of my thymus in the hollow of neck and I have a follow up to investigate this on 1/30. I am wondering if any one knows of a connection between MG and POTs or MG and EDS or all three. Any and all info. is greatly appreciated. Wishing everyone a symptom free day!

Hi kt,