New To Forum

hholmes13

Hi! My name is Heather. I'm 28 years old and live near Rochester, MN. I've been recently diagnosed with orthostatic intolerance. My doctors originally thought it was POTS because of my tilt table results, but a neurologist who specializes in autonomic dysfunction does not believe that to be my problem. He believes I have excessive blood pooling and that my body just won't keep my blood in my head when I'm upright. I'm currently on Midodrine which helps ease the symptoms some, but I'm still nowhere near where I'd like to be! My symptoms literally came on overnight a little over 3 months ago. I haven't had any kind of a virus for a very long time. I deal with excessive fatigue, light-headedness/fainting, brain fog, headaches, and major nausea/loss of appetite. I never knew how debilitating this kind of illness could be! I'm still learning my limits and how to deal with this. It's so nice to find a network of people all dealing with the same thing. Even though I know it's a real illness, it sometimes makes me feel like I'm crazy. Anyway, I look forward to meeting you and learning more about dysautonomia and how to live with it!

Welcome Heather ~