Table Tilt Test And Wheelchairs?

I went to my PCP the other day for other stuff and brought up the possibility of POTS as a diagnsoes for some of my symptoms. She agreed that it definitly could be POTS. Although the patiets she has with POTS are all young and all faint, I am 33 and ahvent' fainted since I was a kid.

So she is hestiant to do the table tilt test on me because she thinks the specialsist who would do thest would say I have too many other variables being that I have been using a wheelchair for the last seven years.

So my question, what is a table tilt test like? (my doc said it is no fun) and 2. will being ina wheelchair affect the results?

Thanks

I'm old :rolleyes: and don't faint either (three times in 26 years) - and I have hyperadrenergic POTS diagnosed by tilt table test. I know that many people have terrible trouble with the TTT, but mine wasn't too bad. I felt pretty crummy right after, but they gave me IV fluids which helped for days.

I don't know how your being in a wheelchair would affect things - maybe they could ask the autonomic doc about that?

I had a tilt table done.... and I don't really get what the point of it was.

I was strapped onto a table, they straightened it up and let me stand there for 30 minutes while a machine measured my blood pressure and heart rate. There was a woman who sat there and watched me and I was supposed to tell her if I had any symptoms (which I didn't) and then she would write them down. They dimmed the lights and I couldn't talk... it was sooooo boring!

After that they injected me with isoproterenol which made my heart rate go up like crazy. I felt an adrenaline rush but none of my "problematic symptoms". I stool for 20 minutes with that.

I was told my test was normal... but I was told to get a Tilt Table by Dr. Grubb which I couldn't do to travel/time/money/etc... so I just went to the local Dr... so not so sure about the success of it