Vertical Nystagmus?

zaks27

Hello everyone! I'm a Newbie, although I've been lurking for months. I was diagnosed with POTS after my TTT in June. My symptoms started in March and my PCP didn't know what was going on. He even brought in a medical student (LOL) to work me up after his exam. Anyway, I was referred to a cardiologist who did the Holter, 24 BP cuff, treadmill, heart scan and Tilt. I was diagnosed with sinus tachycardia and POTS. Pinolol didn't help (slowed my heartrate, but bottomed out my BP), and Florinif wasn't very helpful either. I'm now on Midodrine 10 mg every 3 hr. while upright. It's not helping much anymore--I've never had my BP go above 118 systolic (even laying down). I also use 40 mm compression hose. BTW--I believe the cause of my problems was bariatric surgery I had in Feb. of '09. I've lost 112 pounds since the time of surgery.

So, here's my question: I have, like so many of you pre syncope, lightheadedness, dizziness and vertigo. I haven't seen and ENT for an ENG yet, but I can bring on the vertigo easily just by positioning my head. I figured it was just BPPV and didn't think an ENT could be of much help. When I have my vertigo, it's short-lived--lasts maybe 3-4 seconds--but can be very violent. I've noticed my eyes bounce up and down when this occurs. Does this happen to anyone else? I always thought of nystagmus as being horizontal. When I Googled "vertical nystagmus" I found it could be serious. Any comments from anyone with this symptom? I see my PCP next week and will probably go ahead and get a referral for an ENT visit. I guess I figured I shouldn't worry too much if everyone else has the same symptom. Thanks so much for your help. Hug to all!

Glad you found us but, of course, am sorry for the necessity to do so. It is great that you got dx so quickly but it is rotten that none of the standard meds are giving you even a bit of relief.