A Weighty Issue

rach73

Hi,

I am new here and this topic may have been covered before. I have seen a couple of posts that have sparked an interest in me.

I am just starting out on this crazy journey, it has been this forum which has lead me to believe that I have dysautonomia.

I am overweight, I put on 3 and a half stone whilst on steroids in 2008. I have now lost that weight and hope to go on and lose more. Im not dieting I have just lost my appetite, I always feel like Ive eaten and when I do eat I get full quickly. I have another 3 stone to lose to get to a healthy BMI.

My weight has crept up steadily due to being so incapacitated before I was placed on steroids, I suffer with terrible fatigue and feel unwell on standing. I get light headed and a pressure feeling in my head. I have a low BP, which rises on standing as does my heart rate. I have dips in blood pressure after eating and I have to lay down.

Do Drs believe that only thin people can have dysautonomia? How many of you on here are overweight? Did being over weight hinder your diagnosis? Were Drs less sympathetic?

Im really curious as I am going to be speaking to my GP next week and broaching the subject with him for the first time.

Thanks

Rach

I am confirmed with dysautonomia , OH & NMH.

I have never been a very skinny person and was slightly overweight in the beginning.

The meds they put me on made me gain more weight until I was nearly obese.

I am now slowly loosing the weight and have about 25lb to loose.

A friend of mine has dysautonomia and she has a weight problem , so I think anyone any size can have this.

Thanks Mirry,

I was getting concerned with seeing Drs - I have been treated dreadfully in the last few years, telling me its all in my head. I was worried that they would think that because I'm overweight I couldn't possibly have this.