Hormones

daisy

Hello,

I have been tracking a pattern with my POTS for several months now and wanted to see if anyone else notices this. I had a hysterectomy a few years back (due to severe endometriosis) so I don't have periods but did keep an ovary so I do still have cyclical changes but I can't say for sure when or if I would have been on my period. I go through a just horrible time for a couple of weeks where everything is flared. Bowels are out of control - going either one way or another - horrible stomach pains, head pressure/dizziness is unbearable, chest tightness is awful, atrial arrythmias acting up very frequently, difficulty with bp and heartrate, etc. etc. etc. Then, things seem to settle for a week or so where I can function.....I can do some housework and even get out of the house for short errands, although I still wouldn't be able to walk through a large store or shop for a long period. But, I can function relatively well without debilitating symptoms. I can eat without pain or "consequences (if you know what I mean)". It's not a matter of stress being worse because the stress level is the same.....Then, powie, it starts over again.

This has to be hormone related - my question is - has anyone ever had their hormones tested during a flare (I'm talking about female hormones)? Or has anyone been told anything clinical about this? I know so many of you say you feel worse when you are on your period - why is this? It seems like if we could supplement whatever hormone is lacking during this time, maybe the symptoms could be better controlled. On the converse however, if it's too much of a hormone, I have no idea how to fix that.....anyway, thoughts anyone?