Sick Time/attendance Policies

Elfie

Someone else's post, combined with the situation already going on at my school, inspired me to write this.

I am a full-time college student. I am not currently working. I had been seeking employment, but now with the school year starting I am just barely keeping my head above water with POTs, life, and classes. Right now I am keeping my head above water financially (barely) because of some savings and the support of some of my family members. School has been is session for about two weeks now and there is already what seems to me to be unusual numbers of colds and even suspected H1N1 zipping around through the school. I haven't caught anything viral yet but already have had a sinus infection because my body is run down. The day I went into the doctor I could not get my heart rate lower than 160 b.p.m. I barely had a blood pressure to take.

Our teachers are allowed to set their own attendance policy. Most of my teachers have. I can miss as few as three classes and many teachers make no exceptions/no way to make them up. I understand the importance of attending classes, but I really think that is going overboard. All that is doing is screwing over people like me (that sometimes cannot safely come to class) and encouraging other people to come to class sick. I am sure many of you deal with this same dilemma in your jobs.

So, I guess my question is, what do you do? How do you deal with POTs issues and attendance? Do you go to work or school when you are contagious just because you need to save sick days? How do you deal with other classmates that come to school sick? Have you ever asked a classmate not to sit by you are asked them to please not to come to class because of your own immune issues? Do you wear a mask in public? How do you deal with these issues? Ditto for work.

I would really appreciate the advice, because I get sick so easily since POTs and become practically unable to function.