Effect Of Autonomic Dysfunction On Your Cognitive Stamina And Ability?

kellygirl

Hello Everyone,

I am seriously getting bummed out. Due to the POTS diagnosis I have had to severely limit my physical activity. I am a registered nurse and am unable to meet the physical demands of my job physically. I thought that maybe I could go into some sort of remote work from home but now I am facing the fact that if I am on the computer for more than 45 minutes at a time, I go into complete brain fog, get confused, irritated, excessively fatigued mentally and physically, I lose the ability to follow instructions clearly after about 45 minutes, this is also true for reading a book or even watching a TV program. My attention span is short and I get exhausted.

Has your diagnosis affected your cognitive ability as well. I really thought it was no big deal losing some of my physical functioning as I could rely on my brain... but I am finding that I cannot?

If you have suffered cognitive loss, have you found any brain retraining to help increase cognitive stamina?

I want to go back to some sort of meaningful existance and find some sort of work to do, but I honestly don't know what. I would be a danger to patients... even to pass meds at this point!

Initially, when I couldn't figure out why I was dizzy and "off", I was very affected cognitively. I couldn't get my physics textbook to make any sense, I struggled to keep my focus on a very simple book that I was trying to read for entertainment. There was one point in a class where I was taking notes and I couldn't even seem to spell...I kept writing homonyms for words instead of the words themselves- "right" for "write", etc. Not good. My grades for that quarter were the worst ever...for the first time in my life I got a C. I remember a particularly bad physics lab where I couldn't get my mind to understand ANYTHING. It was hard to get through, I was happy just to survive that quarter.