Severe Headache--question

smatuszak

I'm sitting here again unable to sleep with a wicked headache. Most likely a migraine with no aura. I seem to get these once every 6 to 8 weeks. Most times I can treat them at home with vicodin, composine, dilaudid and lots of propel. Last time I had one, I tried to handle it a home. When it reached the 54th hour--I was so exhausted, so to the er we went. They gave me the same meds through IV with fluids and within ten minutes it was mostly gone--and didn't return.

I get so frustrated. I have a headache to some degree all the time. My neuro wanted me to try imitrex, but It didn't seem to work because I never knew when the normal headache would turn into a long-lasting migraine. Does anyone have the same problem? Any suggestione? Thanks.

Sue--pacer412

I had that exact same problem. My migraine lasted for about 6 months straight, it would get better at times, but it was always there! None of the migraine medicines worked...not the preventatives or for acute problems. Once I was finally diagnosed with POTS, and started my treatment plan the migraine when to a constant headache. I was then put on medicines for my POTS symptoms that made the headache go away. I still usually get a migraine 2-3 times a week, but I have learned to deal with that. One thing for me is to put something cold on my neck, that helps with the blood vessels issues, and usually makes my head stop spinning at least. I also drink Gatorade, as that has more sodium that propel. And then I eat something salty. And I try not to lay down as in the long run that is bad for me, so I pretty much just suck it up and go on with my day, and no I'm not going to lie to you, that is very hard!!!!! But really it is what has to be done.

I hope your feeling better soon!!! Lots of love,

Mary

Hi!