Menopause? QUestions

Hey y'all,

I've been talking with my mother lately. Her mother died before she hit menopause so we have nothing to judge her symptoms and experiences by and she's the oldest woman in the family at the moment.

She's been going through menopause since I was a freshman in high school at least, about 10 years now. She still gets hot flashes and night sweats badly, severe anxiety about memebers of the family getting hurt or dying and SEVERE mood swings. She wasn't like that before the menopause, the anxiety was the same, but the mood swings weren't there. She talked to Dr. Abdallah several times when I saw him and he said she had a mild case of dysautonomia and the menopause is what triggered it.

What I'm wondering is, is there anyone else here, who has it since menopause or developed it with/after menopause, do any of you have mood swings? My father says there are days he walks into the house says one word and she bites his head off. And there are other days when she's just fine. It seems to go between the extremes sometimes.

She takes Black Cohosh -- an herb and we can tell the days she doesn't take it becasue her mood swings are MUCH WORSE.

I've been reading the "Mitral Valve Prolapse Syndrome/Dysautonomia Survival Guide" and the Anxiety described in there is EXACTLY my mom. So far it hasn't described mood swings, but I'm only part way into it.

I guess I'm hoping the mood swings she has are part of Dysautonomia and not something else.

Thanks for reading.

UnicornIsis

I developed POTS after menopause.

Sorry your mother is having such problems, esp. the mood swings. Is she getting enough, or good enough sleep? Being in a constant state of fatigue and not feeling well helps to set us off.

I can get pretty nasty sometimes, but a lot of times, with me, it's my lack of sleep or not feeling well and "keeping silent" about how poorly I'm feeling. It's a stressor to feel poorly all the time.