Pushing Yourself

Evergreen

When it's hard to stand and walk, do you push yourself?

I've never fainted, but when I stand my hr races and pounds. (It's better than when I first started though, my avg hr when I stand is usually 130ish as opposed to 200)

If I push myself to stand more will I become more tolerant to standing?

Is it dangerous to stand if my heart is racing/pounding? Can that cause permanent damage?

I have been fainting since 3 yo and was not diagnosed till 34 (42 now). So I had no choice but to push myself. In college and after I would stand near the bed and push it and throw my weight at the last minute so I landed on the bed. I am not a doctor in any way, shape or form however. I just did what I had to do. I think the key to it is getting to know your body very, very well.. So you know the warning signs and when you can push it, and when you can't.
That is my two cents. :)

I don't push myself at all for two reasons:

1) Yes, high heart rates that are not induced by cardiovascular exercise (anything over 100 usually) can cause unnecessary stress on the heart and there is a risk of developing cardiomyopathy (tachycardiomyopathy). The risk is super low for some people, higher for others, so that would be a conversation to have with your doctors. However, in my case, my doctors said I should be avoiding prolonged heart rates above 100. Many POTS doctors advise a recumbent (reclined or laying down) exercise regimen at first. My POTS doc wouldn't allow me to do ANYTHING upright - even short walks - for the first six months I was sick (maybe more, can't remember).