Dysautonomia And Hyperthermia

corina

Hi everyone!

For one of my Dutch POTSpals I'd like to ask you all a question. Both her daughters have been diagnosed with POTS and are struggling with fevers. One of them has really worrying fevers and has been in bed due to that for quite some time now (they are working with a PT on keeping her seated several times through out the day to keep her POTS from worsening). So far her doctors haven't been able to find a (the) cause. I think MCAD could be involved but then I'm not a doctor of course and don't have much experience with this.

Does any of you experience these kind of (unknown) fevers and could you please let me know what has helped you? Where you able to find a cause? Did you find treatment?

On behalf of my Dutch friend and her daughters thank you in advance for taking the time to read and, if possible, help answer her questions!

Thanks Katie, for thinking with us! PANDAS doesn't seem to fit as both girls don't have any psychiatric issues (as their mum told me!). There are immune issues, one has been tested positive on ANA (non specific according to her doctor) and the other girl has slightly high IgG4 and IgG2 but her doctor isn't concerned (or impressed). Here in Europe (or may be specifically in the Netherlands) doctors are pretty reticent. I feel sorry for the girls (and their mum), it is so hard to have to deal with this and not being understood.

Does any of you know of a (US) doctor who is (leading) in this field? So that perhaps they could try get in touch and ask questions and references for treatment? Or hopefully their doctor(s) could get in touch and discuss possibillities to help the girls move on?

Hello,