Midodrine

mwise

I am a newbie with Dysautonomia and appreciate this forum's wonderful support. I have been taking Midodrine 5mg 3 times a day for the past 2 weeks along with Mestinon 60mg 3 times a day. I have been feeling better with the Midodrine and now can take short walks around the house and stand up without passing out. Before I was predominantly chair, couch and bed bound. I was using a wheel chair and Rollator to get around. Now I can get around the house on my own. I do experience the goose bumps and itchy head at times, but no other side effects. I am hoping I am finally getting some quality of life back. Has anyone on Midodrine built up a tolerance and had to have their dose increased? How long has anyone been on Midodrine (rest of life)? Has anyone ever got off Midodrine once they felt better? I am trying to get some idea of what to expect with Dysautonomia and treatment modalities. I am open to homeopathetic ideas too. I will be seeing my Neurologist at the Cleveland Clinic on Feb. 4th and want to share anything new out there for me to try.

Hello, I am a newbie too with dysautonomia with all my symptoms starting 4 weeks ago. I was unable to even sit up or walk to the bathroom by myself before I started taking Midodrine. I'm so thankful for this medicine. Now I'm able to do very short walks around the house. I still need a wheelchair if I go out anywhere. Thanks for asking these questions. Hopefully I can learn from this too.

i have been on midodrine for about a couple of months now first 5mg bid, then 5mg tid, but now i find that it isn't working and my bp is consistently super low, i have a call into my doc to get it increased hoping 10mg tid.