Effexor

KarenLorrel

Hi...does anyone have experience taking Effexor?

My daughter was recommended to take Effexor during the day, and Clonidine at night. She was told she has low blood volume which causes her dyautonomia.

I have tried to find information but not getting much, so if any of you have experiences with it I would really appreciate hearing about your experiences.

(My daughter is 20 and newly diagnosed....thank you very much.)

Karen

Hi Karen--

I'm still pretty new to understanding POTS/OH, but I have had experience with Effexor, twice in the last 5 years. Both times I was only on for 6mo to 1 yr then weaned off.

I understand that SSRIs can be used/good sometimes for POTS/OH, but here are several considerations, maybe questions for the doctor...

If she goes ahead with it, make sure your daughter follows strict instructions on titrating the dose. Effexor is started at a half/low dose and then increased gradually to a level that helps. I only needed a low dose to feel effects (now I know that was likely POTS at work). And if she decides it's not working, don't stop it abruptly; have to gradually decrease dose to get off.

There have been recent news articles about certain antidepressants, including Effexor, that during the first couple of weeks, symptoms can be worse and/or a patient can become suicidal. I believe the articles have specifically said it could be risky for teenagers/children. I did not have this experience at all, but it would be worth discussing with the doctor.

The one thing that may be a concern... Even though the Effexor "took the edge off" quite well, it also has side effects. One of my biggest was dizziness and fuzz-brain. This may be bad alongside the dizziness of POTS.

I don't think being on or off Effexor really changed any of the tachycardia/OH for me. But I also wasn't diagnosed yet at that point. For me, one less drug is a good thing.

One good thing for me... I lost 5 pounds each time I started Effexor. Who knows why??