Low Bp As A Response To Spring Allergy Season

cordila

It's beautiful in the Pacific Northwest. The rain is starting to clear away and there are buds and fresh green grass everywhere you turn. The trouble is, while I do not have typical Spring allergy symptoms (like runny nose, sneezing, sore throat, puffy eyes, etc) I completely loose blood pressure. I've read that histimines lower BP and increase vasodilation and I think that must be true as I have pulled out every trick in the book to up my BP and yet it still hoveres around 70/40 and has for a week! Yuck! I've tried Clarinex and other OTC meds but, due to the CNS stimulation aspect of the main ingredient ephedrine (or psuedoephedrine), I can't tolerate it. I've been taking a spoon full of local honey each day to help increase my resistance to the pollen spores in the area (as I am new to the Pac NW) but so far nothings helped. Does anyone out there have the same issues and/or have you found any good tips? -WB

I live in the Pacific NW also, and have had much more pooling, red and painful extremities, fatigue, and nighttime adrenaline surges in the past 8 days for seemingly no reason. This post got me thinking, and I have had more hayfever symptoms lately so I took a zyrtec around noon and by 1:30pm my POTS crash was gone!!! I tried taking zyrtec and zantac last year when I was curious if I had MCAD but never really had great results. I definitely think the histamine associated with my hayfever contributed to my terrible symptoms for the past week. I've NEVER come out of a crash this quickly... I'd been taking benadryl nightly lately but woke up feeling just as fatigued. I'm so thankful zyrtec helped. I'll definitely keep taking it for the next few weeks or more. Thanks, Waterbaby, for bringing up this post.

The sunny days we've had of late in this area are nice, but I say Bring On the Rain! Let's wash this pollen away!

Hey Thankful-