Our Jobs

I was wondering what our jobs were before POTS. I was a teacher in the South Bronx. I had quit my job just 5 weeks before I got POTS and I often said in those weeks before that I was "running on adrenaline fumes". Needless to say I was stressed tot he max. I notice a lot of nurses in the pots forums as well. Did many people have a stressful job/life situation before POTS? thx!

718mom

I worked as a pension consultant for most of my career. Then in 2003 I went to graduate school and obtained my license as a counselor. I worked as a licensed clinical counselor from May of 2006 when I graduated until September 2010 when I was hit by this dreadful disorder and am now unable to work. Most days I can't get up off the sofa. This has been catastrophic for me because so much time, energy and money went into preparing for my new career which I loved.

I got a degree in nursing back in the '90s, but only worked a year. Toward the end of that first year I began having what I called panic attacks almost on a daily basis. So, I quit work. I then spent years volunteering at my kids' school. Then, being involved in my kids' cub scouts and softball teams. So, after quitting nursing, I didn't work, but was very busy with other things. I would like to add that I lived my whole adult life up until POTS at 45 with a blood pressure of 90/60. I had NO lightheadedness, but did seem to have a higher pulse(around 100). I could still do anything I wanted, though. The pressure worked for me.