Iep/504 Accommodations

:) IEP/504 Accommodations

Hi, I am new to the forum and joined in order to support friends of mine that have a teenager with a recent diagnosis of POTS. We are looking for examples of IEP or 504 accommodations that have been helpful to students in their efforts to complete high school and move onto college. Any ideas or advice would be appreciated. Thank you. TTeacher :D

I'm not really sure if I can be any help, as I honestly don't know what either of the things you were talking about are, however I am a high school student with POTS, (sophomore this year) and I am still attending school regularly. So I haven't had any special "plans" or what your talking about, but there are things I have done that are beneficial to me. If you want to PM me with questions or anything I would be happy to help out in any way I can.

Good luck!

Mary

I'm in the process of working with my son's high school to put together an IEP. He's a sophomore and hasn't been able to attend much at all this year. He was previously a straight A student. He's withdrawn from history and spanish for the rest of this year because he doesn't need 4 years of those subjects. He's doing math at home with a tutor; the tutor also works with him on chemistry at home, but my son tries to get to his class as often as possible and MUST attend the weekly labs. The English department has told him that he needs to read the 6 books that the class is reading and write reports on those 6 books, but doesn't need to attemd class. If he can fulfill those requirements, he'll get the credits for taking English. He also takes a Computer Science elective (which he loves) and tries to get to as often as he can. If he can show up for class the majority of the time, and complete a special project assigned by the teacher, then he'll get a grade. If he can't make it to class very often, he will be "medically excused" and won't get a grade or credit for the class.