New To Forum

lostkendra

Hello,

I'm Kendra. I'm new to this forum, and thought I'd introduce myself and tell you a little about me. I'm currently an Elementary Special Education Teacher in Topeka, Kansas. I have been diagnosis with POTS now for about 2 1/2 years, but have been dealing with it for about 13 years. Okay, now I'm starting to feel old. I am normally a fun and energetic person. I love teaching and finding new ways in which to reach the kids. I am also an Air Force brat and have traveled a little. And like all good brats, I served my term in the Air Force. (I think that hits the basics)

Lately, I've been having some problems with my POTS. Last week, I stopped teaching in the school because I had missed almost a month of school. I was unable to make it through the entire day. Thus, I am now sitting in the Special Education Office working on some side projects. I didn't lose my job, but they are now in the process of replacing me in my teaching position. I am very hopeful to regain and build my endurance back up so that I can handle being back in a school atmosphere all day.

This is not the first time, I've had problems. About 2 1/2 yrs ago, my first year teaching, I was having slight problems. One bad episode at school, some over-reacting people in administration, and a medical review board got me out of my first school and into this last school where I have been for 2 1/2 yrs. I was also given a medical discharge from the Air Force when their psychs decided I was 'unsuitable for military service'.

I'm not bitter. It's part of who I am, and why what I'm going through is so tough on me. I know in my heart that my health will not allow me to give the students the support they need. I'm glad I still have a position in the school district that I can do without having to worry about income or any of that not so good stuff.