Hair loss

nicole

I have used Pro-Amatine for quite some time now, and haven't noticed either of these effects. I will be curious to see what others have to say about this... sometimes strange side effects can show up after prolonged use of a medication. I hope thse pesky problems go away for you soon!!

• 7 months later...

This is sort of opening an old subject here, but I'm a newbie to this forum. About 6-mos ago, my 17-yr old POTS daughter lost every single hair on hair on her within a 72-hr period with most damage complete within 48-hrs. With POTS, we'd come to expect odd symptoms, but in no way were we prepared for this one. She lost the hair on her head, her eyebrows, arm hair .... about the only area spared were her eyelashes and they thinned. Not a welcome turn of events for one's senior year in high school.

All the tests one would expect were run including thyroid, lupus, drug & toxin screening, etc, and they came up negative. A scalp biopsy was done as well.

When it was all said and done, the medical "best guess" was that our daughter had a severe reaction to the beta blocker Nadolol which she had just started about 3-mos earlier on a switch from Toprol XL. The explanation was that the reaction had reset "the clock" on all the hair follicles so that they fell out near simultaneously instead of on a staggered hair cycle schedule. But it wasn't a conclusive opinion. But we stopped the Nadolol and indeed her hair started growing back (still too slowly for her).

So what's "the story" on beta blockers and hair loss that was mentioned in the prior post? She was also taking Zoloft at the time, but that was discounted as the culprit. I'm indeed curious. Don't want to repeat the past on this one.