Hello From An Old Friend

avais1

Hello dear ones,

It has been a very long time since I have posted. I see many newbies, and not many of the old names back from when I was on in 2004-2006. To the newbies - I am glad you are here on Dinet. I took me a long time to find it, but oh so glad I did. To the veterans - I am also glad you are still here; quieting the fears, giving hope, and providing advice to the new ones.

I have a glimmer of hope to give you - for now. The reason I haven't been on, is that for now anyway, my body has been doing very well. I finally graduated from college (I am a non-traditional student in my 30's) with my bachelors. It took me a long time, I had to miss semesters here and there due to POTS, and repeat a few as well. But finally, after 13 years at it, I finished.

I also got married to my longtime sweetie, on June 10th in southern California. Yes, it was short ceremony, but I am happy to say, I STOOD FOR THE WHOLE THING :)

I also started a brand new job in May, and yes, full-time. It is basically a desk job, so no standing for long periods required.

I also started to work out with a wonderful personal trainer back in January, who is very good about working within my parameters.

To the newbies, I was one of the most severe cases of POTS and Dysautonomia the St. Paul Heart Clinic and Mayo Rochester had ever seen. I couldn't even roll over in bed without my heart going to 145 and higher. I was also used at Mayo as a testing subject for POTS research - yes, I was the guinea pig. I did it to try and help the next person who got struck down with this. Needless to say, I was bedridden for months - literally. There was a time none of us were sure I was going to make it. By the time my body re-wired itself around the damaged circuits, I was 100 pounds of nothing (I am a bigger girl - I had weighed 147). I tried all of the drugs, to no avail.