Another Anemia Question...

I have another anemia question. I know several of you have anemia, so I hope it is okay to ask.

I had iron deficiency anemia this summer. Heavy periods were the suspected cause. I took 3 ferrous sulfate pills a day for 2 months - July and August. At the end of that time, my iron was up - even a little on the high side, and I was not anemic anymore, so they took me off of the pills.

Fast forward to now, I just got some bloodwork done. I'm NOT anemic, but my iron is borderline low (although still within the normal range). Is it normal for iron to deplete like that in 4.5 months when you are not on an iron pill and you have heavy periods? It's gone down about 100 points. My doctor doesn't seem concerned. He does want me to start taking 1 ferrous sulfate per day.

I'm no doctor, but it sure seems like in your case you may need to take some supplemental iron on a routine basis. Heavy periods had made me anemic so I understand.

As for how much iron you lost in a certain amount of time, I don't know what that means except that in your case, you need to keep watching yourself.

What do you mean by "100 points"?

Do you have signs and symptoms of anemia? Are you cold and tired, etc.? I'm assuming you have POTS. Do you have blood volume problems as well?

Why are your periods so heavy? Do you have a clotting disorder? Some clotting disorders (e.g., von Willebrand's disease) do occur in females and are often undiagnosed. Because they run in families, the women who have them often think that such heavy bleeding is normal, because their mother or sister had the same problem.