IV Hydration

This question (IV Hydration) is along the lines of something I've been wondering about. I suppose since low blood volume is one of the problems, then IV Hydration is intended to build up that blood fluid volume. I wonder how long the benefits would last before the body "adjusts" that volume back to its former too low state? Further, as a parent who would gladly donate a pint ... how long would a blood transfusion itself actually be maintained by a POTS patient as an increase to their blood supply? Anyone ever pose such questions to their doctor (specifically, how long would the benefits last)?

First of all I'm not a doctor so let me take my best shot at this.

Let's not get hypovolemia mixed up with anemia. You don't need a blood transfusion unless your hematocrit and hemoglobin are low. You can develop hypovolemia from anemia though. They can usually diagnose you with hypovolemia (low on fluids) if your blood pressure is low, you have orthostatic hypotension, you've been vomiting, diarrhea, excessive sweating or bleeding are the main causes.

I have a standing order for IV fluids now if I need them. I've had such severe hypotension that they now say I've been suffering mini strokes.

As for blood transfusions; they prefer to give epogen injections to increase blood count rather than blood transfusion.

How long it lasts depends on the individual.

I wouldn't say I have a standing order of IV Hydration, but when I get really bad migraines and can't stop throwing up, or the common flu that just won't go away...my body can't seem to bounce back and I think that has a lot to do with fluids and POTS. I usually end up at the ER (With lovely comments about me just being there for a headache or flu.) and the first thing they do it start fluids. I usually just sleep for 5-8 hours with fluids and then feel better enough to go home and let my body heal.