Sub Clinical Pots?

Hi there, I had all the symptoms of POTS (even had to leave a rotation, I am a medical student) and then I realized that my Ace INhibitor (ACEI) was probably not helping things. I stoped the ACEI and my postural tachycardia stopped and the increase in heart rate from sitting to standing went from 36 to 16 and my blood preasure went from 135/80 to 150/95 to compensate.

Despite this some minor sympoms have arrisen like mild diziness, palpatations after meals and occasional minor concentration dificulties (not a great symptom for a student). I am scheduled for my electrophysiologist apointment this Wednesday but I have no idea how knowlegeable he is about POTS. I feel as though if it is subclinical POTS or some autonomic dysfunction I need to determine the whats and hows since that will affect meds i can tolerate. I have had alot of trouble with meds. This is especially important since I have some comorbidities like diabetes type 2.

I am interested in your thoughts.

Thanks

Dave

You have diabetes?

I know that some diabetic neuropathy can affect the autonomic nervous system. I wouldn't consider a 16 beat rise in HR on standing to be worth worrying about, but the increase in BP is disconcerting to me.

Do you already have a cardiologist for your BP issues? Hopefully the EP will be able to help you out.

Many POTS patients are treated with beta blockers, do you think those would work for you as a replacement for the Ace inhibitors (I don't really know that much about Ace inhibitors, so sorry if that's a dumb question).

Best of luck to you!

- Lauren

PS: I should add that (as you probably know) that such a small increase in HR rules out POTS, which is defined by the increase in HR of >30 bpm. Since your BP doesn't fall, I don't think you'd classify for NMH or a similar autonomic problem. I also wanted to say that I've never heard of sub-clinical POTS.

Dave you're the 1000th member- how awesome is that?!